Which Canadian Provinces Have HST?

  • January 15, 2017

The HST is in effect in five of the ten Canadian provincesNew BrunswickNewfoundland and LabradorNova ScotiaOntario and Prince Edward Island. The HST is collected by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), which remits the appropriate amounts to the participating provinces. The HST may differ across these five provinces, as each province sets its own PST rates within the HST. In provinces and territories which have not enacted the HST, the CRA collects only the 5% goods and services tax. The current provincial rates:

New Brunswick  – 15%

Newfoundland – 15%

Nova Scotia – 13%

PEI – 15%